Search Our Online Inventory

Author
Title
Description
Keyword
ISBN
Advanced Search
 
 
Online Gift Cards
Checkout a Gift Card

Would you like an Online Gift Card to Earthlight Books?

 

Familiar Links
 Last Word Books

Walla Walla:
Welcome Table Farm

 
 
 
John Barry: An American Hero in the Age of Sail, McGrath, Tim
Image shown may not reflect actual item

Author Name    McGrath, Tim

Title   John Barry: An American Hero in the Age of Sail

Binding   Hardcover

Book Condition   Very Good

Publisher    Westholme Publishing

ISBN Number    1594161046 / 9781594161049

Seller ID   SKU1038008

1594161046 1st/1st, First Edition, First Printing with full number line. Very Good. Light shelf wear to covers/corners; satisfaction guaranteed. Hardcover with Dust Jacket. Earthlight Books is a family owned and operated, independent bookstore serving Walla Walla, Washington since 1973.

More Description

Finalist for the Rear Admiral Samuel Eliot Morison Award for Excellence in Naval Literature

"Ashore as well as at sea, Tim McGrath paints an informative, engaging and highly entertaining portrait of this worthy but neglected hero of American independence. The author shows us a man who was a magnificent embodiment of common sense--and uncommon courage and dedication. That such a work is long overdue makes its achievement all the more pleasurable."--"Wall Street Journal"

"Combining sophisticated use of sources with a pleasing writing style, McGrath masterfully rescues a father of the U.S. Navy from unmerited eclipse."--Publishers Weekly "A nearly indispensable addition to U.S. Navy collections."--"Booklist"

"McGrath employs exemplary narrative style in this work. . . . In "John Barry," the author adroitly juxtaposes maritime history, narratives of naval combat, and early U.S. social history."--New England Quarterly

"McGrath is a compelling and lucid writer. He brings Barry to life, makes battles understandable, and provides the clearest description of Barry's 1778 capture of the British transport ships "Mermaid "and "Kitty "that this reviewer has seen.""--Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography"

"A great read and an absorbing account of a drama-filled life."--Naval History

"Well researched, well written, and a pleasure to read, this book restores John Barry to the important place he once held as one of our nation's great heroes. It is a tale of high adventure and personal courage and you will not want to put it down." "--"JAMES L. NELSON, author of "George Washington's Secret Navy"

"Readers of this vivid biography will imagine they smell the ocean's salt air and the sulfurous fumes of gunpowder as they navigate these action-packed pages. Fans of Horatio Hornblower and Lucky Jack Aubrey will rejoice in discovering their real-life American counterpart.""--"GREGORY J. URWIN, author of "Facing Fearful Odds: The Siege of Wake Island"

The man regarded as "the Father of the American Navy" returns to the quarterdeck in "John Barry: An American Hero in the Age of Sail," the first comprehensive biography of this legendary officer in generations. Son of a hardscrabble Irish farmer from County Wexford, Barry was sent to sea as a child, arriving in Philadelphia during the restless decade before the American Revolution. Brave and ambitious, he ascended the ratlines to become a successful merchant captain at a young age, commanding the most prestigious ship in the colonies and recording the fastest known day of sail in the century.

Volunteering to fight for the Continental cause, Barry saw his star rise during the War for Independence. As captain of the Lexington, Raleigh, and Alliance, Barry faced down broadsides, mutinies, and even a fleet of icebergs. He captured the first enemy warship taken by a Continental vessel and fought the last battle of the American Revolution. His hard-won victory over two British warships simultaneously garnered him international notoriety, while his skill as a seafarer and cool temper established Barry as a worthy foe among British captains. Without a ship during the winter of 1776-77, the ever resourceful Barry lead a battery of naval artillery at the battle of Princeton. With peace came a historic voyage to China, where Barry helped open trade with that reclusive empire. In 1794, President Washington named Barry as the first commissioned officer in the new United States Navy. Given the title of commodore, Barry ended his career during America's naval war with France, teaching the ropes to a new generation of officers, most notably Stephen Decatur.

Drawn from primary source documents from around the world, "John Barry: An American Hero in the Age of Sail" by Tim McGrath brings the story of this self-made American back to life in a major new biography.

Price = 10.00 USD


Browse some related titles while you're here:
Pacific War Marine
Holloway, Clyde; Holloway, Stanley P.
7.50 USD
Add to Book Bag!

Permanent Member of the Family, A, Banks, Russell
Permanent Member of the Family, A
Banks, Russell
7.50 USD
Add to Book Bag!

I Love You More: A Novel, Murphy, Jennifer
I Love You More: A Novel
Murphy, Jennifer
6.00 USD
Add to Book Bag!

Defending the Borders: The Texas Rangers, 1848-1861, Wilkins, Frederick
Defending the Borders: The Texas Rangers, 1848-1861
Wilkins, Frederick
19.00 USD
Add to Book Bag!

Sam Bass & Gang
Miller, Rick
12.00 USD
Add to Book Bag!

The Sweet Hereafter
Banks, Russell
16.00 USD
Add to Book Bag!

Reformation Thought: An Introduction
McGrath, Alister E.
5.50 USD
Add to Book Bag!

American Catholics in the Protestant Imagination: Rethinking the Academic Study of Religion, Carroll, Michael P.
American Catholics in the Protestant Imagination: Rethinking the Academic Study of Religion
Carroll, Michael P.
15.50 USD
Add to Book Bag!

The Promised Land: The Great Black Migration and How It Changed America, Lemann, Nicholas
The Promised Land: The Great Black Migration and How It Changed America
Lemann, Nicholas
13.00 USD
Add to Book Bag!

Tours That Bind: Diaspora, Pilgrimage, and Israeli Birthright Tourism, Kelner, Shaul
Tours That Bind: Diaspora, Pilgrimage, and Israeli Birthright Tourism
Kelner, Shaul
16.00 USD
Add to Book Bag!

Our Lady of the Exile: Diasporic Religion at a Cuban Catholic Shrine in Miami (Religion in America), Tweed, Thomas A.
Our Lady of the Exile: Diasporic Religion at a Cuban Catholic Shrine in Miami (Religion in America)
Tweed, Thomas A.
13.00 USD
Add to Book Bag!

Saint Augustine's Conversion, Wills, Garry
Saint Augustine's Conversion
Wills, Garry
7.00 USD
Add to Book Bag!

 


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to earthlightbooks@gmail.com
Copyright©2017. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie