Search Our Online Inventory

Author
Title
Description
Keyword
ISBN
Advanced Search
 
 
Online Gift Cards
Checkout a Gift Card

Would you like an Online Gift Card to Earthlight Books?

 

Familiar Links
 Last Word Books

Walla Walla:
Welcome Table Farm

 
 
 
The Headmaster's Wife: A Novel, Greene, Thomas Christopher

Author Name    Greene, Thomas Christopher

Title   The Headmaster's Wife: A Novel

Binding   Hardcover

Book Condition   Very Good

Publisher    Thomas Dunne Books

ISBN Number    1250038944 / 9781250038944

Seller ID   SKU1041714

1250038944 First edition. Tight binding. Clean text and covers. Light browning to edges. VG DJ. Earthlight Books is a family owned and operated, independent bookstore serving Walla Walla, Washington since 1973.

More Description

Beautifully written and compulsively readable, "The Headmaster's Wife" is a haunting and deeply affecting portrait of one couple at their best and worst--"a truly remarkable novel" (Richard Russo)


Inspired by a personal loss, Greene explores the way that tragedy and time assail one man's memories of his life and loves. Like his father before him, Arthur Winthrop is the Headmaster of Vermont's elite Lancaster School. Found wandering naked in Central Park, he begins to tell his story to the police, but his memories collide into one another, and the true nature of things, a narrative of love, of marriage, of family and of a tragedy Arthur does not know how to address emerges. "The Headmaster's Wife" explores the nature of family, of the hidden world of boarding schools, and how a love can both deepen and change over time. A beautifully written, profoundly emotional book, it is perfect for fans of Anita Shreve and Richard Russo, and stands as a moving elegy to the power of love as an antidote to grief.

Price = 10.00 USD


Browse some related titles while you're here:
A New Path to the Waterfall: Poems, Raymond Carver
A New Path to the Waterfall: Poems
Raymond Carver
30.00 USD
Add to Book Bag!

Outlaw: The True Story of Claude Dallas, Long, Jeff
Outlaw: The True Story of Claude Dallas
Long, Jeff
39.95 USD
Add to Book Bag!

The Whores of War: Mercenaries Today (A Pelican special), Burchett, Wilfred; Roebuck, Derek
The Whores of War: Mercenaries Today (A Pelican special)
Burchett, Wilfred; Roebuck, Derek
23.00 USD
Add to Book Bag!

The Bomb Maker, Perry, Thomas
The Bomb Maker
Perry, Thomas
14.00 USD
Add to Book Bag!

Odes to Opposites: Bilingual Edition, Neruda, Pablo
Odes to Opposites: Bilingual Edition
Neruda, Pablo
19.99 USD
Add to Book Bag!

Let's Talk Flying Saucers: How Crackpot Ideas Are Blinding Us to Reality and Leading Us to Extinction, Bros, Peter
Let's Talk Flying Saucers: How Crackpot Ideas Are Blinding Us to Reality and Leading Us to Extinction
Bros, Peter
20.00 USD
Add to Book Bag!

Finding Gold (The Phoenix Living Poets), Norris, Leslie
Finding Gold (The Phoenix Living Poets)
Norris, Leslie
30.00 USD
Add to Book Bag!

The Sons of Liberty Book 2: Death and Taxes, Lagos, Alexander; Lagos, Joseph
The Sons of Liberty Book 2: Death and Taxes
Lagos, Alexander; Lagos, Joseph
15.00 USD
Add to Book Bag!

A Gravestone Made of Wheat, Weaver, Will
A Gravestone Made of Wheat
Weaver, Will
35.00 USD
Add to Book Bag!

Love from Boy: Roald Dahl's Letters to His Mother, Sturrock, Donald
Love from Boy: Roald Dahl's Letters to His Mother
Sturrock, Donald
15.00 USD
Add to Book Bag!

After the Last Race, Koontz, Dean R.
After the Last Race
Koontz, Dean R.
30.00 USD
Add to Book Bag!

The Witch of Hebron: A World Made by Hand Novel, Kunstler, James Howard
The Witch of Hebron: A World Made by Hand Novel
Kunstler, James Howard
12.00 USD
Add to Book Bag!

 


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to earthlightbooks@gmail.com
Copyright©2018. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie